Skip to main content
File:Asiatic Society - Park Street - Kolkata 2013-04-10 7830.JPG|thumb|The Asiatic Society building. April 2013. '''The Asiatic Society''' was founded by William Jones (philologist)|Sir William Jones on 15 January 1784 in a meeting presided over by Robert Chambers (English judge)|Sir Robert Chambers, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court|the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court at the Fort William (India)|Fort William in Calcutta, then capital of the British Raj, to enhance and further the cause of Oriental research. At the time of its foundation, this Society was named as "Asiatick Society". In 1825, the society dropped the antique ''k'' without any formal resolution and the Society was renamed as "The Asiatic Society". In 1832 the name was changed to "The Asiatic Society of Bengal" and again in 1936 it was renamed as "The Royal Asiatic Society of Bengal." Finally, on 1 July 1951 the name of the society was changed...
Native name| native_name_lang =
Map caption| map_alt =
Latitude| longitude =
Coordinates type| established = 1784
Dissolved| location = 1 Park Street
Kolkata – 700016
West Bengal, India
Collection| visitors =
DirectorMihir Kumar Chakrabarti
PresidentBiswanath Banerji
share Share
favorite Favorite


texts texts 233
TOPIC atoz
up-solid down-solid